The pains of being a hard ass…

8 06 2008

Recently, I have been acutely aware of my growing hard assedness. Heck at this point, my stomach might be soft but my buns are 62 on the Rockwell scale.

So here is what I am talking about. Who do I admire? Hardasses…cause they tell it like it is, at least to them and at the very least they actually have an opinion about something. The good news is that HA’s (hardasses) generally tend to be right about things.

It feels like the whole world is in a constant state of panic about what they say, lest they insult somebody or just generally be a real poop. God forbid somebody being a truly stupid wanker get called out nowadays by somebody who may really have experience and knowledge in something. Naw, you have to preface everything you say so that it will have the minimum amount of negative spin on it. Everyone must get a medal right?

When I did have a job working for the “MAN” and the man didn’t like what I was doing or how I was doing it, it took the “man” 30 minutes just to segway into the issue. I was like…. OUT WITH IT MAN!!! I can take it, I am a big boy, ain’t going to cry if I don’t like what you have to say, it is still real none-the-less.

Heck, Obama who when he speaks I can see the machine churning, analyzing everything about to come out of his mouth still gets caught off guard.

“You go into these small towns in Pennsylvania and, like a lot of small towns in the Midwest, the jobs have been gone now for 25 years and nothing’s replaced them. And they fell through the Clinton administration, and the Bush administration, and each successive administration has said that somehow these communities are going to regenerate and they have not.

“And it’s not surprising then they get bitter, they cling to guns or religion or antipathy to people who aren’t like them or anti-immigrant sentiment or anti-trade sentiment as a way to explain their frustrations.”

Could this be any more true?

So, I am going to keep on blurting out what I think to be true, you might disagree but at least you will know how I think about it in about 2 mins flat and I won’t be insulted if I get the same from you.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

