Powder Vs. Paint. A face off!

4 10 2008

In the left corner we have the Blue trunks,  single stage polyurethane! and in the right corner we have the black trunks… powder coating.   At the bell, come out with your hands up!

Just an impromptu test today.  No, I won’t say it has any scientific merit but often people think that wet paint (traditional sprayed on catalyzed coatings) looks a lot better but can take a lot less abuse than powder coating which is a powdered plastic that is baked onto metal.

I don’t really see this in practice.   So,  I have been experimenting with making my own single stage paint.  Here is my first attempt.

I think it looks pretty darn good, but how does it hold up?

First get out trusty framing hammer and whack on it a good, hard three times.  MMM, not bad.  No chipping and no primer adhesion issues.

Now for the same test on powder coated metal.   Seems like the same result to me.

Next place brake fluid on both of them for 30 minutes.  Brake fluid will strip a crap paint job in just a few minutes (don’t ask me how I know)

Both stand up to that no issue at all.

It was nice to see that the paint was pretty darn durable.

Dave

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

